Skip to contentSkip to navigation
  1. The Fear of Falling Apart
  2. 21 Days
  3. Woke up Late
  4. How You Feeling Now?
  5. Closer
  6. When Everything Is Gone
  7. Talking Low
  8. All Around
  9. By the Water
  10. Come Around
  11. Careless
  12. Fooling Myself
Release Info
  • Release DateNovember 1st, 2019
  • CatalogBONAL069
  • LabelBonsound
  • FormatDigital, CD, Vinyl
About the Release

A sense of nostalgia permeates throughout 1952, particularly in The Fear of Falling Apart. Geoffroy spent a lot of time retracing his steps, writing in the backyard garden of his childhood NDG home and digging through old family VHS tapes. The Fear of Falling Apart is without a doubt the most personal song on 1952, shares Geoffroy. Breast cancer took my beloved mother away from me in 2017, 11 years after the first diagnosis. I wrote this song a few months after her passing. In the last weeks, I told her my next album would be dedicated to her. She smiled. I wish she could hear it, but at least she knows.

The striking album art, designed by Montreal tattoo artist Dan Climan, is based on an old photo of Geoffroy’s mother, to whom the album is dedicated (1952 was her birth year). The artwork is a beautiful eye-catching image, and a deeper meaning reveals itself once listeners explore the meaning of the lyrics and music. Listening to 1952 from start to finish is a rich and evocative experience layered with textures of organic percussions, bass, guitars, vocals and synths. Reunited with Coastline collaborators Gabriel Gagnon, Clément Leduc and Max Gendron, 1952 is the first album completed at the newly christened Homy Studio in Montreal.

Related videos