Skip to contentSkip to navigation
  1. Milkweed
  2. Free Grillz
  3. In Between
  4. Pissed Black Girl
  5. Children of Fate
  6. Gone Girl Interlude
  7. No Ego
Release Info
  • Release DateMay 27th, 2022
  • CatalogBONEP032
  • LabelBonsound
  • FormatDigital
About the Release

After gaining a cult following with her previous EP Drug Music, Magi Merlin now presents Gone Girl, her most audacious effort to date. Drawing its influences from 90’s house, drum and bass, Motown and acid-flecked hip hop, the emerging indie singer draws us into her biting yet soulful and intricate universe, which she created alongside longtime producer Funkywhat. In her musical cauldron, the self-described “cheeky nihilist” combines jazzy scats with raps, and breakbeats to give us her take on generational angst, fake friends and casual racism. This EP, which at times feels like a mixtape with its interludes and subversion of genres, unveils Magi’s many hiddens facets; offering a selection of work that is energetic, funky and packed with confrontational and brooding observations. Whether it is to unleash years of bottled-up anger or to dazzle her fans with funkadelic dancefloor numbers, Magi Merlin holds on to the mic and presides queenlike over her ever-widening stage.

Other releases from Magi Merlin